Indy’s Magic Soup

 

Chicken Rice Noodle Soup

A friend of mine talked me into lunch one day at Long Thanh, a Chinese and Vietnamese Restaurant near 71st and Binford.  Before I say anything else I’m going to save you some headache; the menu is quite extensive and you may find yourself overwhelmed with the amount of options… get the soup.  (You’re welcome.)

Luckily for me, my friend who’d made a weekly ritual of Saturday afternoon soup wasted no time and ordered for me.  I took one sip of my heaping bowl of piping hot chicken and rice-noodle soup and immediately felt as if I was suddenly becoming Superman.  Yes, it’s well-known that chicken soup is good for what ails you, but this had something extra special.  Perhaps it was the handful of bean sprouts, which I learned contains more vitamin C than an orange.

“Oh my goodness,” I exclaimed to my friend, “How did you find out about this soup!?”

He let me in on a little secret that I will now and forever carry with me when I go out to explore new cultural restaurants:

“Ask the old men what they’re eating…that’s what you want to get,” he explained.

I took a look around the restaurant.  Everyone was eating the soup.  There are 16 different soups to choose from, but I recommend the chicken soup (#20 on the menu).  In it you’ll find the magical ingredients of chicken, rice noodles, onions, garlic, cilantro and parsley.  Basil, jalapenos, bean sprouts and limes come on the side – so you can play around with it and make it your own.  (Yes, as an adult I’m saying you should play with your food.  No judgment.)  Add the jalapenos and a bit of sriracha if you’d like to spice it up!

This soup is of a generous portion.  If you’re able to make it to the bottom of the bowl, you’ll find a beautiful piece of cultural artwork.  If not, don’t forget to ask for a to-go!

 

Long Thanh
5707 E 71st St.
Indianapolis, IN 46220
(317) 842-6499

 

Long Thanh on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

