First Date – Biscuits & Gravy!??

Biscuits & Gravy typically don’t come to mind when one thinks of first date possibilities.  A second date, perhaps – and only if you are lucky (but now I’m just being cheeky…and refraining from innuendos).  But seriously, I can’t remember the last time I cleaned my plate.  I mean scraped it until there was nothing left…

Anyway, I found myself on a nice evening stroll through Fountain Square when I discovered one of the district’s newest, and possibly sexiest little nooks:  the Thunderbird.  Even the name sounds enticing.  Like I half expect to meet a ‘bad boy’ who offers to order me the Slapped Actress cocktail (which consists of Tito’s Vodka, Lairds Apple Brandy, lemon, lime, sugar)…and then whisk me away on his motorcycle into the sunset where we… oh …um…sorry…where was I?  Oh yes, Biscuits & Gravy.

The Biscuits & Gravy are very desirable; with warm, succulent duck gravy and a fried egg on top.  The portion is of just the right amount to hit the spot… and yet leave you wanting more.  This irresistible, Southern-inspired food is not the only thing to be desired.  Their imaginative cocktails will whet your appetite and satisfy your cravings.  Feeling rebellious?  Grab a Sleeveless Jesus – a boozy, T-Bird original.

Going back to its 1950s roots when the Thunderbird Night Club was where rock n’ roll artists would hang, it’s easy to see how the “rabble rousers” vibe carried over to inspire this rustic, chic atmosphere with exposed brick, bare wood and naked lights.  It’s the perfect place for an impressive first date or if you’re looking to add some spice to your night.  Get ready to let your creative and imaginative side go wild.  (Just don’t forget to order the Biscuits & Gravy!!!)

Thunderbird
1127 Shelby Street
Indianapolis, IN 46203
(317) 974-9580
http://www.thunderbirdindy.com
Thunderbird on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

